Google+

Nathaniel’s Heart

1

24 July 2015 by romanin

Something incredible happened the other day.  Nathaniel, my 4-year old, asked me a very important question.  We had just talked about prayer and about how God promises to answer our prayers when we ask in his name (John 16:23-24) and with the right motivations (James 4:3).  As I was putting him to bed, he asked:

Baba (daddy), can you pray for my heart?

Me: Why?

Nathaniel: Because my heart is bad

Me: Why is your heart bad?

Nathaniel: Because sometimes I do bad things.

I then talked to Nathaniel about how God promises to cleans our hearts and renew our hearts if we pray to him and ask.  And I told him about my own testimony and how my heart used to be bad too (and still is sometimes!)  And I read Psalm 51 to him.  After that, I prayed for him.  He then asked:

Why did you pray for my heart?

Me: Because you asked me to!  Nathaniel, why did you ask me to pray for your heart?

Nathaniel: Jesus told me to.  Baba, can you baptize me?

Me: You mean in a bathtub?

Nathaniel: I want you to baptize me here in my bed.

Me: Well I think we should do it in a church so people can see.

Nathaniel: OK, but I want you to do it.  you can become a pastor and you can baptize me.

Me:  Why do you want to be baptized?

Nathaniel: So I can know God better.

I have to say I was so happy.  I am not going to say this was my son’s conversion story, but I am so happy to see my 4-year-old grappling with his own sin and salvation!  What an amazing thing.  He understands more than I realize.  I was very encouraged by this.  praise God.

One thought on “Nathaniel’s Heart

  1. Beverly Michalski says:

    Praise God for Nathaniel’s sweet tender heart that is so sensitive to God at such a young age. I don’t know about your church but ours often allows fathers to baptize their sons and not all of them are Pastors. Food for thought.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,107 other followers

SUBSCRIBE

Click on the Mail Chimp to subscribe!

Click here to donate to our ministry

