Google+

L: Mr M, the catalyst

1

29 May 2015 by romanin

Each time I exit the highway and drive down Roosevelt Road headed toward Wheaton College, my memory takes me back to the first time I drove down that road to Freshman Orientation with my mom and all my stuff.  It is one of those memories I will never forget.

Wheaton College was a place that changed me, changed my heart and challenged my identity as I knew it.

It has been almost 10 years since graduating from Wheaton and 14 years since I met Dr. M.      If you are a Wheaton alumni, prior to the taking away of that infamous class, “Freshman Experience,” you know how many students felt about the class: it wasn’t anything to write home about for most people and at most, students felt that the class was somewhat useless and a waste of time.

I still stand by what I thought back then.  It depended on the professor and how he/she decided to use the class.

Little did I know what I was in for when I sat in my first class of “Freshman Experience,” with Dr. M introducing himself and the class syllabus.  This class was going to be the beginning of the end of my life as I knew it.

Dr. M is one of those professors who is quiet and unassuming, kind-hearted and warm.  His tacit nature always made me wonder what he was going to say next, the twinkle in his eye reminded me of his quick wit.  I had to remind myself that his tacit nature was not to be mistaken for social removed-ness; instead, he was probably most often the most socially aware person in a room of students.  He’s the kind of college English professor that uses “cantankerous” just because it’s floating around in his head.

Sitting in his kitchen tonight reflecting on the significance he played in my journey has made me want to share with you how God used Dr. M as the catalyst to change my heart for Chinese people and culture.

In my next blog post, I want to share how I ended up with a love for Chinese people and Chinese culture.  I say ended up because it wasn’t always there inside of me.  I’m not talking about the kind of love you have for pizza or Chinese food.  I’m talking about the kind of love you feel when you hear a child say, “I want to put a sign in our garden that says ‘FREE FOOD’ so homeless people can take as much as they need.” (Kara Noel Lawson in “Home Front”)

Stay tuned for the next post:  You’ll read more about Dr. M, me and how my life became the life it is today.

One thought on “L: Mr M, the catalyst

  1. Beverly Michalski says:

    I can’t wait to hear ” The Rest of the Story”.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,137 other followers

SUBSCRIBE

Click on the Mail Chimp to subscribe!

Click here to donate to our ministry

