Google+

L: UNHINDERED!!!

1

5 March 2015 by romanin

Have you ever thought what it would feel like to be a kid again, to be unhindered by cultural and social expectations?

To scream ever so loudly when you’re frustrated.  To laugh uncontrollably. To cry because it didn’t go your way.

Sometimes children show you part of yourself that you haven’t known in a long time.  Throughout the day, my children do things and say things that make me realize I have become so conscious of myself that I rarely ever lose myself anymore.

Over the past few days, Nathaniel, Ethan and Abigail have all belly laughed so hard that they just kept on belly-laughing even after what they were laughing at ceased to actually be funny. They couldn’t NOT laugh!  I found myself a little bit jealous of how they could find something so funny AND dwell on it and enjoy it.  They let that feeling of “so funny” overwhelm their entire bodies and faces, to where their entire being for that moment just screamed, “SO FUNNY!”

Wouldn’t it be neat to have a few moments throughout the week where you just forget yourself and forget your ideas of what are normal, where you disregard the culturally acceptable way to respond to things and just respond the way you instinctively want to respond, the raw you?

I’m not talking about drinking excessively or beating the tar out of someone or something because you are filled with dreary despondency or explosive rage.

I’m talking about when that Voice inside you just wants to stop and give food to the beggar on the street.  I’m talking about when you have this compelling feeling to go talk with that mom who looks like she is hanging on by a thread at the grocery store at 7:00 in the morning.  I’m talking about when you want to run circles around the parking lot because you feel celebratory.

I think we sometimes think too highly of ourselves and that our desire to keep that image a certain way gets in the way.  King David didn’t even think himself too cool to leap and danceIt’s like the middle school kid who thinks he’s too cool for school, but the adult version.

Sometimes I’ve thought, “I’m too ____ (insert all sorts of excuses) to talk to that homeless woman…don’t want people to think I’m weird.”

Oh! Come onnnn, Lydia!!! Get over yourself!  A few things retrospective “me” has to say about my thought process.

1.  Weird?  What are we in, 7th grade??  You think people will think you’re “weird,” when people watching are more likely thinking, “Man, I wish I had the guts to stop and talk to her…that girl has a big heart”
2.  You can talk to a highly educated intellectual for hours but you can’t even say one word to that homeless woman?  Shame on you.  We each have our comfort zones or comfort sub-populations.
3.  Why why why is it that I sometimes care more about what complete strangers think of me than those closest to me?

When compassion fills our hearts, when celebratory feelings well up inside of us, we need to allow our bodies and souls to forget ourselves for a moment and override that default  reaction inside of us to downplay those feelings when we realize we might look foolish to onlookers.  Forget yourself for a moment and don’t think of cultural expectations and norms.  Be counter-cultural in how you relate with people because that is what Christ calls us to.  Like Nathaniel, Ethan and Abigail, we need to let those feelings that are divinely given overwhelm our bodies and faces so that the people around us see and experience those glimpses of God.

“It was before the LORD, who chose me above your father and above all his house, to appoint me as princef over Israel, the people of the LORD—and I will celebrate before the LORD22I will make myself yet more contemptible than this, and I will be abased in yourg eyes. 

One thought on “L: UNHINDERED!!!

  1. Beverly Michalski says:

    What a great thought. How true. You and Nick are both such great writers or bloggers, if you wish. I am always blessed by what you write. Hope you will be able to come through Wheaton sometime and have a nice visit. I just got a calendar from Lynn Picker that she developed for her student families in Kunming. Good to see some of her staff and students. They need some additional music teachers as several have completed their 2 year visa permits and have to return home. She will be planning a trip this way sometime this summer to recruit teachers at Wheaton, Moody, Trinity, etc. She is also working on a plan with a Christian boarding school in Minnesota where she is from to get several students to attend a year or two of high school in that setting. Seems it is popular to get children from “middle class families” to get more education in English to better prepare them for college in America. That brings them into your mission area with COM. I can’t wait to see her again. It has been several years. My other friends living in China are coming to the US for a year from June 2015 to July 2016. It has been over 4 years since I saw them. It is amazing to see how God works over the years. When I was in High School in the 1950’s and had just accepted The Lord our church in Bloomfield, NJ rented out our space on Sunday afternoons to a Chinese church group mostly from Hong Kong. I was one of the helpers with the children and then to do 1:1 Bible study and English language tutoring with a young mother named Bouquet Tom. This started my love for the Chinese people. The Lord has since linked me up with a family from that same church who has been 50 years with Wycliffe in Asia and it is their daughter who lives in China and serves in translation work with WBT as well. Then you chose to attend FBC Wheaton and sing in the choir and Lynn and Don Picker came as well. Lynn and Don know my other friends in China through an association between missions. WOW! Surely not a coincidence. Have a great week! Speak to those who look like they need a GOOD WORD and I will continue to pray. Bev Michalski

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,107 other followers

SUBSCRIBE

Click on the Mail Chimp to subscribe!

Click here to donate to our ministry

