Google+

Another Memory Verse for Nathaniel

Leave a comment

12 November 2014 by romanin

I posted some time ago about Nathaniel memorizing Proverbs 3:21-24.  I don’t know why, but I kind of left it at that.  Then one day, on the way home from my brother’s house, I hear this in the back seat:

“Am I a dog that you come at me with sticks and stones?  I’ll give your flesh to the wild beasts!”

Shocked, I realized that Nathaniel had memorized part of the David and Goliath story that we had been reading him before bed.  So we started a new bible verse, Philippians 2:2-4

“…complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind.  Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.” (ESV)

This set of verses holds wonderful lessons for our boys as they adjust to having a new little sister.  They don’t necessarily catch the lessons now, but they will.  The amazing thing is the rate that their little minds soak up these verses!  I was driving the other day and trying to repeat it myself, and Nathaniel corrected me!

This is so encouraging for us, and hopefully for all of you other parents of pre-schoolers too.  We get to see God’s word planted in their hearts from an early age!  That’s pretty cool stuff.  They have the capacity to learn it and learn it fast.  Might as well take advantage of that.

In Deuteronomy 11:18-19, God says this:

“You shall therefore lay up these words of mine in your heart and in your soul, and you shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.  You all teach them to your children, talking of them when you are sitting in your house, and when you are walking by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.” (ESV)

It’s just so cool that we can do this so early in their lives!

Nathaniel and his new sister, Abigail

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,107 other followers

SUBSCRIBE

Click on the Mail Chimp to subscribe!

Click here to donate to our ministry

