Google+

Night Terrors and Nathaniel’s Memory Verse

Leave a comment

8 July 2014 by romanin

Ever since I (Nick) quit my job at the end of May, Nathaniel has been having night terrors. He would wake in the middle of the night screaming, and after the first one, he became afraid to go to sleep in the dark anymore (a non issue for the past three years). He would say before bed “I’m afraid of the bears!”

After having enjoyed uninterrupted sleep for the past few years, this troubled us, but realizing the fear was real, we have been trying many things to calm him down and ready him for sleep, but nothing has consistently worked.

While we were at a friend’s house we told this story, and our friend suggested that we read him a scripture before bed that talked about how God grants “sweet sleep” to those he loves. We decided it would be worth a try and so I looked up “sleep” on Bible Gateway and found three verses having to do with sweet sleep. My favorite was Proverbs 3:24. So I decided to read this verse to Nathaniel, but I started at verse 21. It goes something like this:

My son, do not lose sight of these
keep sound wisdom and discretion,
and they will be life for your soul
and adornment for your neck.
Then you will walk on your way securely,
and your foot will not stumble.
If you lie down, you will not be afraid;
when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet. (ESV)

When I finished this verse, a smile crept across his face that I hadn’t seen before, and he asked me to read it again. He’s asked me to read it to him every night for the past two weeks, and for the past two weeks, he hasn’t had a problem!!

I’m not one to say that this will work for everyone, the night I read this scripture to him, the night terrors stopped! What a testimony to the power of God’s word!

Here’s my favorite part. Tonight, before I read it to him, I asked if he remembered it.

With tears in my eyes, I listened to his sweet voice recite the four verses word for word. I couldn’t believe it. This is Nathaniel’s first memory verse! Praise God! A little three-year-old boy with 4 verses of God’s word engrained in his little mind. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,137 other followers

SUBSCRIBE

Click on the Mail Chimp to subscribe!

Click here to donate to our ministry

