Google+

L: The animal in me

Leave a comment

19 July 2012 by romanin

It’s time to post about crafty stuff once more [finally!!].  It’s been a while since I’ve had time to do anything crafty.  Of course, there’a always working on Nick’s striped sweater that’s been sitting around for 1 year…and there’s always making new PUL diaper covers…and starting the 2-3 dress and shirt ideas I have in my head.  But I wanted something quick; something I could finish in 1 or 2 afternoons.  So I chose a wet bag and a simple blouse.  Today I will blog about the wet bag.

I’ve never owned anything animal print…in my life!  But now, I own 1 animal print item:  a wet bag for diapers and other wet stuff.  I bought this material to make a changing pad for a friend, so the material was laying around in my basement crafting space.  Well, after seeing a few good deals on Zulily for wet bags, I decided it was time that I changed from using grocery store plastic bags to a reusable, washable wet bag.  I actually already had a plain, white waterproof fabric wet bag that neither Nick nor I liked because it had a drawstring closure and would let diaper smells get out of the wet bag.  Eek!  So, I took it upon myself to convert the drawstring wet bag into a zipped wet bag with a cotton outer layer to give it some more style.

Enter animal print.

It’s zebra–black and white stripes.  Totally NOT me!

But I decided to go out on a limb since after all, it is just a diaper bag.  I also had a homeless zipper that once zipped up a shirt/blouse (that has since been torn apart for other purposes) laying around that was the perfect length!  Surprisingly enough, I also have the tool for pressing snap buttons into material (for the loop of the wet bag).  So, combine all of the things “laying around” my crafting space…and voila!

A new animal print wet bag.  Take a look!

Behemoth, our black cat, got in the way

 

Repurposed zipper

 

 

Snap button for the loop to tie around stroller/door knob, etc.

 

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,146 other followers

SUBSCRIBE

Click on the Mail Chimp to subscribe!

Click here to donate to our ministry

