Google+

Back In Grafton

Leave a comment

29 July 2009 by romanin

Lydia and I are back in Grafton, and we hit the ground running!  We went and saw the church yesterday, baught stuff for decorating the church, went to the mall to get Lydia’s rings soldered together, and we are continuing to look for jobs.  It’s nice to be home, but it is only for a short time.

One thing that excited me was that I got to see my brother’s bible study.  Mikey, my young artist brother, is leading a bible study that he calls “Word-Sauce.”  Lydia and I got to sit in on it for the first (and last) time.  There were eight kids there not including Mikey and not including me and Lydia.  They come every week, and it sounded like they are a pretty close group.  They are all from Midview High School, the school I went to when I was in high school, and most of them are graduating this year and about to go to college.  It is amazing to me to see this happening.  When I was in high school, not only was I not a believer, I was not aware that anyone in my school was, and if there were believers, I had no idea any of them would have a bible study at their house.  To be honest, I really don’t think that there are many other bible studies like that in the Midview school district.  I may be wrong and I may be being cynical, but I really think Mikey’s group is a new kind of deal, and how refreshing!

Mikey’s study was on predestination, a touchy topic.  We talked about it and how it relates to evangelism, and I’ll tell you what, there are people growing there.  Unfortunately, next week will be the last time that the group meets.  Mikey will be going back to college and so will several others.  I told you above that the last time I went to Mikey’s study was the last for me.  I’m not going to his next study because I’m going to go to a bible study with my dad on the same day!  I was really worried about coming home, to be honest.  We both were.  We were in a community where every American we knew was Christian.  We all know for a fact that that isn’t the case here in the good old U.S.A.  But to my hearts delight, when I come back, I get to study the word with my brother, my sister, and my father.  I have never done that in my life.  I’ve been to church with them, but I have never had the opportunity to study the word with them, and it is a wonderful thing to be able to do that.  I never imagined that the father would bring my family together in the way that he has been.  His word and his light are not returning void.

Like I said, we are still looking for jobs.  I have received two emails recently about possible positions.  One is in Kalamazoo MI, and one is in Lehigh Valley, PA.  I will go where the father leads, but I’m still keeping my ear to the ground for Cleveland stuff.

The Lord has done great things for us!  We have 9 days left!!!!  9 days until the wedding!!!  We are counting them down diligently; we can hardly wait.  Most people expect us to be nervous, but we are more anxious than anything else.  🙂  Getting married in the Church might make us nervous even a little because we will be in front of everyone, but we just want to be married.  But it will come.  The Lord has done great things for us.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,107 other followers

SUBSCRIBE

Click on the Mail Chimp to subscribe!

Click here to donate to our ministry

